Life and News

A couple of years ago I began a thought process surround the relationship between Life, Death and Photography and began gathering various images to supplement my thoughts and feelings surrounding it.

Photography has a responsibility to show, wherever possible, the truth.  To throw off the rose tinted glasses and to show the world in all its glory, even if that glory is something many do not wish to see.

In the past 24 hours my family have seen the safe arrival of mine and my partners new daughter.  Alice entered this world at 11.24pm on the 11th of August 2016 and I had my camera of course.

It’s always important to get those precious moments, those first cuddles and the first meetings with grandparents, but what about the first breaths?  Anyone who has seen or experienced birth knows that it is a messy business but one that can be very humbling indeed.  In my images captured during the birth of my daughter I wanted to show as much of birth as I could ‘warts ‘n’ all’.

This blog post will be one of several studying this area of anthropology however I must warn the reader at this point that some of the images are graphic.  For this post I will leave it at this one image, taken just seconds after my daughter breathed her first breath.  My pursuit is in search of that honest document of Life and Death and its relationship with Photography.

Alice Seconds Old

Leave a Reply

