The Revolving Door and a Namesake

During my thoughts and explorations on the subject of Life and Death I have often thought of hospitals and the role they of course play.  Every day people breath their last breath while someone else somewhere is breathing their first.

Over four years ago on the death of my grandmother I couldn’t help but visualise what a beautiful image that scene would have made.  The lights were off, only the soft natural light of the evening coming through the window was present.  She was laying in the same position I had visited her in only 30 minutes before when she was still alive and had made eye contact with me.

What a beautiful photograph this scene would have made, I didn’t capture it through the knowledge that it would get a mixed response from family members.  This lead to the time surrounding the arrival of our new daughter, an empty single room in the hospital was just asking to be photographed, so I did.  The interesting thing being that this particular room was in the same part of the hospital that my grandmother had passed away in and a similar position only three floors lower.

The revolving door of life sees time begin and time end, often only meters apart from each other.

There is another element to this story as our new daughter bares the name of my late grandmother ‘Alice’, a deliberate tribute to a strong, very wise and sorely missed women (pictured below meeting my eldest daughter Cleo 7 years ago).

Leave a Reply

